board of directors


Ben Depuydt

Technology Manager, Umicore

Ben Depuydt obtained a PhD in Physics from the University of Ghent in 1996, on the subject of thin film solar cells. At Umicore he has been working on process and product development in the field of semiconductor crystals and wafers. In 2004 he co-founded Comsecore, a company producing compound semiconductor crystals and wafers. Currently he is Business Development Manager at Umicore’s Electro-Optic Materials unit, where he has been leading several product innovation and portfolio expansion projects. He has been managing Umicore’s CPV business development as from 2009.




Dr. Andreas Bett

Deputy Director Fraunhofer ISE
Director, Division "Materials - Solar Cells and Technology"

Andreas Bett is the deputy director of the Fraunhofer Institute and has more than 20 years of experience in CPV technology. He is currently heading the department “Materials – Solar Cells and Technology” of Fraunhofer ISE. This department includes the group “III-V – epitaxy and solar cells” which is one of the largest and certainly one of the most respected groups active in R&D for CPV cells, modules and components. Andreas was awarded the Becquerel Price in 2009 and the Fraunhofer Prize in 2010 for his achievements in III-V based CPV, has been the general chair of the International Conference on Concentrating Photovoltaics CPV-6 in Freiburg, 2010 and involved in organizing CPV sessions during several IEEE and European PVSEC conferences, and is an active member in the IEC TC82 WG7, which develops standards for CPV technology. He has published more than 200 papers in this field and his current research interests are related to multi-junction cell development, CPV module development, new characterization and testing procedures and reliability issues.


Sarah Kurtz

Reliability Group Manager, Principle Scientist, PhD, NREL

Sarah Kurtz obtained her PhD in 1985 from Harvard University and has worked since then at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, in Golden, CO. She is best known for her contributions to developing multijunction, GaInP/GaAs solar cells and for supporting the Concentrator Photovoltaic (PV) industry. Her work has been recognized with a jointly received Dan David Prize in 2007 and the Cherry Award in 2012. Currently, she is managing the Reliability Group at NREL and working to facilitate the growth of the PV industry through improved performance of PV in the field.


Takashi Iwasaki

Group Leader for the Solar Energy Group, Sumitomo Electric Industries

Iwasaki-san is the Group Leader for the Solar Energy Group of SEI. At the heart of SEI’s strategy is its Environment and Infrastructure Business, including the Energy Division which incorporates a variety of technologies including CPV solar equipment, battery storage, energy management systems, and cable. The Group's charter is to support transitioning SEI's long history of developments in concentrator photovoltaic technology into highly competitive solar solutions.

Iwasaki-san has been with SEI for over 32 years, having joined the company upon graduation from Kyoto University with a Science Masters focused on solid-state physics and solid chemistry. He has been instrumental in the development of the company's CPV system. SEI is enthusiastic about the opportunity for its CPV systems, and is eager to be able to take a leadership position on the CPV Consortium board, in order to help advance the acceptance of CPV as an important technology in the PV area. With the financial strength of being a $25 billion company, Sumitomo is in a unique position to leverage the financial strength of being a $25 billion company, to advance the overall CPV landscape.

Iwasaki-san is also the company's representative on the IEC committee and can help bring continuity of efforts of the two groups.


Gerhard Strobl

Director of Business Development, AZUR SPACE

Gerhard Strobl is with AZUR SPACE or its successor companies since 1983. Until about the year 2000 he was responsible for the high efficiency silicon solar cell development for space and terrestrial application (e.g. he held the patent for the local p+ for the world record silicon solar cells). In the last decade he was responsible for the transition of silicon to GaAs solar cell technology at AZUR for space application. At the moment AZUR has a share of 40% of the worldwide commercial space solar cell market. In the last 7 years his main focus at AZUR was on the introduction of CPV technology at AZUR following the company slogan “From Space to Earth” as he did it in the past for silicon already. During this period Gerhard Strobl was appointed Director for Business Development and took over more and more commercial and strategic responsibilities in addition to his technical work.

Ignacio Luque

Dr. Ignacio Luque Heredia

CEO of BSQ Solar

Ignacio Luque-Heredia is CEO of HCPV manufacturer BSQ Solar, which he co-founded in 2009. Previously he was co-founder and CEO of CPV tracker specialist company Inspira, founded in 1995 and acquired in 2007 by the Silicon Valley CPV company Solfocus. From 2007 to 2009, he was CTO of Solfocus Europe. Leading Inspira’s and BSQ Solar’s engineering he has participated in more than thirty collaborative projects in the field of CPV, which go from the EUCLIDES project in 1995 that resulted in the biggest CPV plant of its time, to the recent NGCPV project, on 3rd generation photovoltaic devices and their integration in CPV systems. He has led the deployment of CPV pilot systems and plants, as well as several technology transfer programs in the US, China, India, Japan, Russia, Australia, MENA, Brazil, Mexico, and Europe. Ignacio holds MSc and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering by Polytechnic University of Madrid. He is Senior Member of the IEEE.